Alabama National Champs

Patrick McHugh, News Editor

The National Championship came down to the wire and it is one we will remember for a long time with Alabama coming out on top and ending Clemson’s undefeated season by winning 45-40 marking Alabama’s 4th national title in 7 seasons.

Both quarterbacks Deshaun Watson and Jake Coker had outstanding games with Clemson’s Watson throwing for 405 yards, rushing for 73 yards and throwing 4 touchdowns.  Which broke the record for most amount of all-purpose yards in a national title game and became the first quarterback to throw for 4,000 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in a single season. Alabama’s Coker was also impressive with 335 yards and 2 touchdowns.  

Alabama’s Heisman winning running back Derrick Henry had a stellar night with 100 yards and 3 touchdowns and helped close out the game with a 1 yard touchdown run late in the 4th quarter.

This is Alabama’s 20th national championship which now makes them the fourth winningest program of all time. Coach Nick Saban won his 5th career national title which makes him 1 title away from tying the all-time record with Bear Bryant with 6.

Both Alabama and Clemson finished the seasons with records of 14-1.